Just like all states, Texas regulates motor vehicles on its roadways. All motorcyclists are required to observe all traffic rules. However, motorcyclists are also subject to a unique set of Texas laws that specifically apply to motorcycles’ orientation. Violating these laws could result in legal penalties and motorcycle accidents. Here are important motorcycle laws that all riders must know.
Lane splitting is illegal
Slight frame and maneuverability are some of the most attractive aspects of riding a motorcycle. Many riders take advantage of the motorcycle’s size and maneuverability to split lanes to move faster than the usual traffic flow.
Don’t try this in Texas. In case you get involved in a traffic accident while lane splitting, you will find it very challenging to get compensated for the consequential damages. This is because lane splitting violates Texas traffic laws. Besides, you risk adding points to your license and getting expensive tickets.
Some riders are required to wear a helmet
All motorcyclists under 21 years must wear a helmet unless they fit into one of the set exceptions. First, they must have completed a state-approved road safety or motorcycle safety course. Secondly, they can establish that they have an insurance cover that can cover your healthcare expenses if you get involved in a crash.
Though the law allows some motorcyclists to ride without a helmet, it’s important to mention that it is in your best interest to wear a helmet. A recent study showed that helmets are 37 percent effective in preventing motorcycle accident deaths and 67% efficient in preventing severe brain injuries.
Motorcyclists must have a specific license
Texas state laws require motorcyclists on public roads to acquire a special license, usually referred to as Class M License. After you have met all of the driver’s license requirements, it’s important to take a safety course approved by the TDPS (Texas Department of Public Safety) and present proof of successful completion of that course.
All motorcyclists must carry a liability insurance
Every motorcyclist in Texas should acquire compulsory liability insurance that can pay for at least $30,000 for every person injured in a crash and $60,000 for multiple individuals injured in a crash. This insurance should be sufficient to cover at least $25,000 for property damage.
You can’t have a passenger under 5 years old
Though taking your nephews, kids, nieces, and younger relatives on a motorcycle ride seem like harmless fun, it can lead to a traffic citation. The law prohibits passengers under 5 years old from riding on motorcycles.
Other Texas motorcycle laws
Here are miscellaneous motorcycle laws or lack thereof.
- No restrictions regarding the sound produced by motorcycles
- Eye protection is required for people who take their motorcycles off the road
- Riders are required to use daytime headlights unless the bike was manufactured before 1975
- No restrictions on the use of radar detectors on bikes
- No restrictions regarding the use of helmet speakers
- You must have one or more rear-view mirror on your bike
Though many people in Texas ride their motorcycles without any crash, there’s always a risk of an accident or injury every time you take the road.
Every motorcyclist knows that riding is exhilarating. Bikes are incredibly maneuverable, fast, and allows users to enjoy the outdoors while traveling. Unfortunately, these aspects make motorcycles very dangerous. This is why you should always obey the law. Wear a helmet every time you hit the road, avoid lane splitting, and don’t violate other traffic rules.