Laws You Should Know After a Car Accident in West Palm Beach
Getting involved in a car accident in West Palm Beach can have a significant impact on your life. It may negatively affect your quality of life, long-term health, and even your earning capacity. And for that reason, you’ll want to seek compensation for your injuries. If you have never been in an automobile crash before, you may be uncertain about many things, including how to handle your car accident claim. Hiring skilled West Palm Beach car accident lawyers can help you understand all the relevant car accident laws in Florida and ensure that you get the most out of your claim.
Three common car accident laws in West Palm Beach, Florida
1. No-fault car insurance
Florida is one of the states with no-fault auto insurance, commonly known as personal injury protection (PIP). The law states that all motor vehicle owners in the Sunshine State must carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP.
The purpose of PIP coverage is to provide up to $ 10,000 in immediate medical compensation to injured drivers and passengers regardless of who is at fault. As a result, PIP reduces payment delays for injured car accident victims by eliminating the need to spend weeks or months trying to establish liability through the court system.
It is crucial to bear in mind that PIP does not cover property damage. So, if the accident results in property damage or if your medical bills exceed the $10,000 threshold, you might want to pursue compensation from the at-fault party. Consulting with West Palm Beach car accident lawyers can help you determine whether or not to file a claim.
2. Pure comparative negligence
Auto crashes often happen due to the negligence of one or more motorists. While liability for car accident injuries falls directly on the at-fault party, you must prove fault or negligence as a claimant. You need to show that the party at fault owed you a right or duty at the time of the accident in order to recover compensation. You’ll also need to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that their negligence was the direct cause of your injuries or losses, not some pre-existing condition.
In Florida, however, more than one party can be responsible for a car accident. A good example is when a texting driver collides with another motorist who ran a stop sign. If that happens, and the defendant proves that you are partly to blame for your accident-related injuries, your damages may be lowered by a figure proportionate to your own fault. In Florida, this is known as the pure comparative rule.
3. Statute of limitations
Florida has set forth a limited window of time to file a car accident lawsuit in a civil court. As per section 95.11, accident victims are allowed up to four years to pursue compensation for their personal injuries or property damage. While this may seem like a lot of time, you must seek compensation the soonest you can to ensure that you have a strong case.
However, if you have sustained severe injuries and didn’t realize the time to file a claim had expired, you shouldn’t feel worried. There are some exceptions to this law under certain circumstances. Talking to knowledgeable West Palm Beach car accident lawyers will help you identify other available options to recover compensation.
Call a trusted car accident lawyer in West Palm Beach, FL
If you have been injured in an auto crash and are uncertain about what to do, our West Palm Beach car accident lawyers are here for you. We will help you handle the taxing and time-consuming legal processes to ensure that you get the amount of compensation you are owed.
Give us a call today at 561-693-3872 to book a free initial consultation.